All Library databases .:The Library at Gulf Coast Community College:.

GCCC home Distance Education  |  Hours Contact us 
    GCCC > Library > Journals & Databases > All databases sorted by title

 

  Academic Search Complete: is designed specifically for academic institutions. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

America's Newspapers: includes electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one database. Paid ads are excluded.

Applied Science and Technology FT: Look here for fast, convenient access to the most important sources in applied science and technology—much of it from peer-reviewed journals. This database features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles.  Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

Art: includes 24 related topics covering art history, interior design, antiques, graphic arts, architecture, fashion design, painting, photography, sculpture, and video.

ARTstor: is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Biography Index: provides access to biographical material on subjects from antiquity to the present, representing all fields and nationalities.

Biography Resource Center: combines award-winning biographies from respected sources, including selected full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus: offers researchers convenient online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture—much of it from peer-reviewed journals—plus full text. Full text citations also link to PDF page images, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations indispensable to science research.

Book Review Digest Plus: includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews.

Business: subjects covered include Accounting, Advertising, Banking, Building & Construction, Communications, Computers, Economics, Electronics, Finance, Hospitality and Tourism, Human Resources, Insurance, International Business, Investments, Management, Marketing, Small Business.

Business Source Complete: includes indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Chronicle of Higher Education: The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.

CINAHL Plus Full Text: is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. With more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

College Source: college catalog database.

Columbia Grangers World of Poetry, The: For over a century, Granger's® has been the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's® Index to Poetry is now in its 12th edition.

Computer Database: includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

CQ Researcher: provides in depth coverage on weekly hot topic issues. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index: Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Custom Newspapers: Newspapers - 175 Current national and international newspapers with full text articles.

EBSCO Animals : provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Education: a bibliographic database providing access to articles pertaining to the field of education, and including selected full text.

Education Research Complete: is for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

eLibrary: Database contains more than 2,000 full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and books, as well as thousands of maps, images, web links, and television/radio transcripts including full-text, Text with Graphics, and Multimedia (.jpeg images, QuickTime Video, web links, and .wav audio)

ERIC: is the world's premier database of educational literature. ERIC, or Education Resources Information Center, has more than 110,000 full-text materials freely avalible online. (Database is free to the public.)

Essay and General Literature Index: a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles focusing on the humanities and social sciences.

Expanded Academic ASAP: gives access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers from arts and the humanities to social sciences, and science and technology.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: gives access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers from arts and the humanities to social sciences, and science and technology.

General Business File ASAP: Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics, in the form of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.

General OneFile: a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics including business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc.

General Reference Center Gold: a general interest database that integrates a variety of sources for locating articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images, covering such topics as the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, and hobbies.

General Science FT: Easy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions.

GreenFILE: GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Greenwood Press eBooks: The Greenwood Digital Collection is a collection of reference, academic and general interest ebooks. This is a collection of complete texts — all searchable by keyword, subject, author, or title.

Grove Art: (an Oxford online product) comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles that have been added or updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.

Grove Music: (an Oxford online product) comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). 

Health and Wellness Resource Center: provides access to magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

Health Reference Center Academic: Health Reference Center Academic: provides access to articles on Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.

Health Source Consumer Edition: This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines. This database is updated on a daily basis. 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

History Reference Center: offers full text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Hoover's Premium: Hoover's, Inc., delivers comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence that drives business growth. Our in-depth coverage of the world's top enterprises is at the core of our business tools and service that customers find vital to their operations. Hoover's editorial staff of editors and researchers brings vital business information and knowledge to its coverage, updating the site daily to bring our visitors and subscribers the most up-to-date business information in the industry.

Humanities: subjects covered include Archaeology, Art, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion, and Theology.

InfoTrac Professional Edition: a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily, and offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, science and technology, or sports/athletic training.

Issues and Controversies: Issues and Controversies: online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

JSTORE: offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Legal Periodicals: a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications, and covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. (Free)

Library Literature & Information Science: a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews in key library and information science periodicals.

Lit Finder: Full text poems, plays, stories, speeches, and essays.

Literary Reference Center: includes full text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; short stories; classic novels; and author interviews.

Literature Resource Center: provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors, novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from every age and literary discipline.

MagillOnlineLiterature Plus: is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.

Medline with Full Text: Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.

Military & Government Collection: designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies.

NetLibrary: Searchable collection of ebooks specifically selected for Florida's community colleges.

New York Times: includes Newspaper archive providing comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. NYT Magazine is the Sunday supplement to the revered New York Times newspaper; includes access to articles, editorials, and letters to the editor on popular news and entertainment topics. NYT Book Review includes latest book reviews, the acclaimed New York Times Best Sellers lists and everything new and noteworthy in the literary world.

New York Times Historical: (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Times Image Edition: is an exact digital reproduction of the printed edition , with keyword searching and ability to browse the full publication. All pages, including advertising, photos and graphics are included.

Nursing and Allied Health Source : accesses articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition: provides content from six databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, and Business.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: draws sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues and controversial topics, and includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, links to websites, and selected full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Oxford English Dictionary: The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

PDR Electronic Library : provides instant access to FDA approved drug information to include drug interactions, side effects, recommended dosages, contraindications, and more.

PsycARTICLES: is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.

Readers' Guide: a database containing comprehensive indexing, abstracting, and selected full text articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals.

Regional Business News: provides comprehensive coverage for regional business publications.

Science Resource Center:  provides full-text science-related reference books, indexing, abstracts, and full text science-related magazines and academic journals, newspaper articles, images, and web site links.

Social Sciences: covers Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies.

Teacher's Resource Center: Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. (Free)

Testing & Educational Reference Center: Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

What Do I Read Next?: includes over 115,000 recommended titles, more than 62,500 plot summaries, and awards information from 561 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hit Counter