|
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition:
a good place to start your research. This database provides content from six databases: Education, General Science,
Humanities, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, and Business.
Academic Search Complete:
an enormous scholarly collection offering peer-reviewed and selected
full-text information in nearly every area of academic study.
eLibrary:
Database contains more than 2,000 full-text journals, magazines,
newspapers, and books, as well as thousands of maps, images, web
links, and television/radio transcripts including full-text, Text
with Graphics, and Multimedia (.jpeg images, QuickTime Video, web
links, and .wav audio)
Health and Wellness Resource Center:
provides access to magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions,
directories, and information on medical and health related topics.
Literature Resource Center:
provides access to biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors, novelists, poets,
essayists, journalists, and other writers from every age and
literary discipline.
New York Times Image Edition:
is an exact digital reproduction of the printed
edition , with keyword searching and ability to browse the full
publication. All pages, including advertising, photos and graphics
are included.
|
 |
Business
-
Business Source Premier is a rich collection of titles, providing selected full
text for numerous scholarly business journals.
-
Business Full Text is a rich collection of
titles, providing selected full text for numerous scholarly business
journals.
-
Hoovers Hoover's
Online is an electronic database that provides company profiles,
rankings, and other corporate-related information. Both U.S. and
international companies are profiled with information available on
millions of companies, including detailed records on both public and
private sector companies.
-
JSTORE offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal
issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and
illustrated.
-
Regional Business News
provides comprehensive coverage for regional business
publications.
|
 |
Current Issues
includes electronic editions
of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one
database. Paid ads are excluded.
CQ Researcher
provides in depth coverage on weekly hot topic issues. Topics range
from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and
science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year
including four expanded reports.
eLibrary Database contains more than 2,000 full-text
journals, magazines, newspapers, and books, as well as thousands of
maps, images, web links, and television/radio transcripts including
full-text, Text with Graphics, and Multimedia (.jpeg images,
QuickTime Video, web links, and .wav audio)
Issues and Controversies
Issues
and Controversies: online source of up-to-date, in-depth and
objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues
of the day.
New York Times includes Newspaper archive
providing comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the
making) and historical events. NYT Magazine is the Sunday supplement
to the revered New York Times newspaper; includes access to
articles, editorials, and letters to the editor on popular news and
entertainment topics. NYT Book Review includes latest book reviews,
the acclaimed New York Times Best Sellers lists and everything new
and noteworthy in the literary world.
New York Times Image Edition
is an exact digital reproduction of
the printed edition , with keyword searching and ability to browse
the full publication. All pages, including advertising, photos and
graphics are included.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
draws sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information
on social issues and controversial topics, and includes viewpoint
articles, topic overviews, statistics, links to websites, and
selected full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
|
 |
Education
-
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top
destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in
academe.
-
College Source:
A collection including 39,026 college catalogs. Full cover-to-cover,
original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate,
professional and international schools.
-
Education Full Text
a
bibliographic database providing access to articles
pertaining to the field of education, and including selected
full text.
-
ERIC
is the world's premier database of educational literature.
ERIC, or Education Resources Information Center, has more
than 110,000 full-text materials freely available online.
(Database is free to the public.)
-
InfoTrac Professional Edition:
a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for
educators that is updated daily, and offers balanced
coverage for any professional educator in the arts and
humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development,
health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature,
science and technology, or sports/athletic training.
-
Teachers Resource Center:
Provides indexing and abstracts
for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator
trade journals to assist professional educators. (Free)
-
Testing & Education Reference Center:
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a
college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships?
Use this database to search thousands of college and
graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet
their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use
test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
|
 |
Language and Literaturecombines award-winning
biographies from respected sources, including selected full-text
articles from hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Index
provides access to biographical material on
subjects from antiquity to the present, representing all fields and
nationalities.
Book Review Digest Plus
includes descriptive summaries
of books as well as excerpts of book reviews.
Columbia Grangers World of Poetry
provides anthologies, author biographies, poetry indexes, and a
selection of full text poems.
LitFinder International in scope,
LitFinder covers all
time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content,
including more than 126,500 full-text poems; 850,000 poem citations
and excerpts; 5,000 full-text short stories; 2,800 full-text essays;
1,800 full-text speeches; and 1,000 full-text plays. LitFinder
also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a
glossary.
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors, novelists, poets,
essayists, journalists, and other writers from every age and
literary discipline.
MagillOnlineLiterature Plus is the premier literary
database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This
database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses
and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as
well as all the biographies and author essays included in
MagillOnAuthors.
|
 |
Health Sciences is
the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing &
allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560
journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover
indexing in CINAHL. With more than 600,000 full-text articles dating
back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research
tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
EBSCO Health Power Search: Search EBSCO’s
Academic Search Premier, CINAL, CINAL Plus with Full Text, CINAL
Select, Clinical Pharmacology, Health Source Consumer Edition,
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition, Pre-CINAL, and PsycArticles
with a single search interface. Simply type what you are looking for
into the Find space and then click on search; materials from all ten
databases will display on the screen. (Please remember, if you are
looking for the newest articles, it is best to change your search
results to sort by date.)
Testing & Education Reference Center: (NCLEX Exam
Reviews) Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a
college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this
database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries.
Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line
practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education
goals.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
provides access to magazines,
journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on:
Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health,
Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription
Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments,
etc.
Health Reference Center Academic
provides access to articles on
Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health,
Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs,
Prescription Drugs, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals
focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source:
Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for
nearly 850 journals.
Thompson's PDR Electronic Library
: provides instant access to FDA
approved drug information to include drug interactions, side
effects, recommended dosages, contraindications, and more.
PsycARTICLES
is
a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and
scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than
45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American
Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It
includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from
each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
|
 |
Math and Scienceoffers researchers convenient online
access to the core literature of biology and agriculture—much of it
from peer-reviewed journals—plus full text. Full text citations also
link to PDF page images, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos,
and illustrations indispensable to science research.
Computer Database
includes computer-related
product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware,
software, electronics, engineering, communications and the
application of technology.
General Science Abstracts FT
Easy-to-use and designed
specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full
Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related
questions.
JSTORE
offers researchers
the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal
issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and
illustrated.
|
 |
Public SafetySearch a comprehensive
collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals
including information for professionals in law enforcement,
corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family
law, and industrial security.
Legal Periodicals
a bibliographic database that cites articles
from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Periodical coverage
includes law reviews, bar association journals, university
publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications,
and covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court
decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
PsycARTICLES
is
a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and
scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than
45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American
Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It
includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from
each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
Testing & Education Reference Center:
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a
college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships?
Use this database to search thousands of college and
graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet
their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use
test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
|
 |
Social Sciencescombines award-winning
biographies from respected sources, including selected full-text
articles from hundreds of periodicals.
CQ Researcher
provides in depth coverage on
weekly hot topic issues. Topics range from social and teen issues to
environment, health, education and science and technology. There are
44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
Search a comprehensive
collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals
including information for professionals in law enforcement,
corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family
law, and industrial security.
History Reference Center
offers full text from more than 1,000
reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover
full text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents,
43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000
historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical
video.
Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies: online source
of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most
prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
JSTORE
offers researchers
the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal
issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and
illustrated.
Legal Periodicals
a bibliographic database that cites articles
from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Periodical coverage
includes law reviews, bar association journals, university
publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications,
and covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court
decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
PsycARTICLES
is a definitive
source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles
in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from
57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association
(APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal
articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
Coverage spans 1985 to present.
New York Times Historical
(1851-2003) offers full page
and article images with searchable full text back to the first
issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing
access to every page from every available issue.
Social Sciences
covers Addiction Studies,
Anthropology, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal
Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics,
Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology,
International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public
Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry,
Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies.
|
 |
Technologyincludes computer-related
product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware,
software, electronics, engineering, communications and the
application of technology.
Technology Database
an enormous scholarly
collection offering peer-reviewed and selected full-text information
in nearly every area of academic study.
|
 |
Visual and Performing Arts
includes 24 related topics covering art history,
interior design, antiques, graphic arts, architecture, fashion
design, painting, photography, sculpture, and video.
Biography Resource Center
combines award-winning biographies from respected
sources, including selected full-text articles from hundreds of
periodicals.
Grove Art
comprises the
full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34
vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh
Brigstocke (2001). Articles that have been added or updated since
their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner
of the screen.
Grove Music
comprises the
full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second
edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001),
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London,
1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited
by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Humanities Full Text
subjects covered include Archaeology, Art, Dance,
Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Literature,
Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion, and Theology.
|
|
Source Type Selected |
 |
Newspapers
The Gulf Coast Community
College Library has both online and in print newspaper titles.
Our physical
print collection includes:
Apalachicola
Times
Barron’s
The
Chronicle of Higher Education
Community
College Week
The New York
Times
The News
Herald
The Port
Saint Joe Star
The
Pensacola News Journal
The
Tallahassee Democrat
USA Today
The Wall
Street Journal
- The Library’s digital
newspaper collections cover news from all over the United States of
America. Here are some sample databases to get you started:
-
America’s Newspapers This comprehensive database will
allow you to search online newspaper articles nationally,
regionally, or by state. (Current New York Times articles are
available through America’s Newspapers.)
-
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top
destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in
academe.
-
New York Times The New
York Times provides full coverage of the New York Times from
2000-the current issue. This is the searchable full-text format of
the newspaper. For earlier editions, use New York Times Historical.
-
New York Times Historical The New York Times Historical,
from ProQuest, provides full coverage of the New York Times from
1851-2003. Users can view images of articles, full newspaper pages,
and all of the articles are text searchable.
|
 |
Magazines & Journals
One the first floor of
the Library, downstairs, you will find the College’s collection
of printed magazines and journals. Both Florida State University
Panama City Campus and Gulf Coast Community College contribute
to this collection of academic and popular trade publications.
The College also subscribes to 67
online databases, which provide access to these resources
online. A large percentage of the physical magazines downstairs
can also be found online through the Library’s homepage.
If you know the name of the publication you
wish to search for, click on the link below and type the journal
name into the search bar. This search will show you online and
in library holdings for that title. (Click here:
http://atoz.ebsco.com/SEARCH.asp?id=guco )
If you aren’t looking for a specific
publication, try one of the databases bellow:
Academic Search Premier:
an enormous scholarly collection offering peer-reviewed and
selected full-text information in nearly every area of academic
study.
Business Source Premier:
is a rich collection of titles, providing selected full text for
numerous scholarly business journals.
CINAHL Plus Full Text:
is the world's most
comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health
journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed
in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover
indexing in CINAHL. With more than 600,000 full-text
articles dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text
is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and
allied health literature.
InfoTrac OneFile:
a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide
range of topics including business, computers, current events,
economics, education, environmental issues, health care,
hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science,
social science, sports, technology, etc. (Info Trac is available
to all Florida residents through the Florida Electronic
Library.)
|
 |
Books
& eBooks
Gulf Coast Community college
provides a wide variety of academic books which can be found both in
the library and on the libraries web site.
The traditional paper bound book
collection is located on the third floor of the library, and is
searchable through the library catalog.
GCCC pays for over 36, 000
online books, which can also be found in the library’s catalog. Look
for the e-book symbol, and log in to read them! (The log in is your
social security number, and the password is the last four digits of
your social security number.)
Click here to go to the catalog.
|
 |
Reference publications
Gulf Coast Community College
Library provides traditional reference books, and extensive online
reference tools. The Reference Department can be found on the 3rd
floor of the library, and a librarian is always waiting there to
help you.
Online versions of these
resources include:
CQ Researcher: provides
in depth coverage on weekly hot topic issues. Topics range from
social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science
and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including
four expanded reports.
Grove Art:
comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane
Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art,
edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles that have been added or
updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the
upper right corner of the screen.
Grove Music:
comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and
Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John
Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera,
edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove
Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld
(London, 2002).
PDR Electronic Library:
provides instant access to
FDA approved drug information to include drug interactions, side
effects, recommended dosages, contraindications, and more.
For a list of online
Dictionaries
click here.
For a list of online
Encyclopedia’s
click here.
|
|
|