The Library at Gulf Coast Community College

GCCC home Distance Education  |  Hours Contact us 



 

CREATIONISM & EVOLUTION

Definitions: Creationism: Belief in the literal interpretation of the account of the creation of the universe and of all living things related in the Bible.

Evolution: Change in the genetic composition of a population during successive generations, as a result of natural selection acting on the genetic variation among individuals, and resulting in the development of new species. (American Heritage Dictionary)

 

Darwin's nemesis : Phillip Johnson and the intelligent design movement 

BT1220 .D28 2006  

Why intelligent design fails : a scientific critique of the new creationism

BL240.3 .W49 2005  

Evolution vs. creationism : an introduction

QH367 .S395 2004

GCCC BOOK CATALOG SEARCH

 
eBook Link

eBook Link

eBook Link
The creation/evolution controversy  : an annotated bibliography Trial and Error: The American Controversy Over Creation and Evolution Where Darwin Meets the Bible: Creationists and Evolutionists in America
 
RELEVANT SUBJECT HEADINGS: Bible and Evolution; CreationismIntelligent Design; Evolution; Religion in the Public Schools; Religion and Science
 
NARROW YOUR TOPIC:
  Is evolution a theory or fact?
  Is creation science a science?  Why or why not?
  Should both creationism and evolution be taught in the classroom?
  What impact have genetics and molecular biology had on the theory of evolution?
  What are the differences / similarities between progressive creationism, catastrophism, scientific creationism and the gap theory?
  How did 19th century theologians react to Darwin's theories?
  Does creation science violate the First Amendment?
  Is it necessary to be an atheist to accept evolution?  Must people reject evolution in order to be religious?
  What is "intelligent design theory?"
  What effect did the Scopes Monkey Trial have on the teaching of evolution and creationism in schools?
   
SPECIALIZED SOURCES SHELVED IN THE REFERENCE COLLECTION:  
  The philosophy of science : an encyclopedia Reference Q174.7 .P55 2006
  Encyclopedia of evolution       Reference QH360.2 .O83 2002 
     
JOURNAL DATABASES:  
OmniFile Full Text Mega Opposing Viewpoints
 
AVAILABLE ONLINE:
CQ Researcher-creationism
 
SUGGESTED INTERNET SITES:
Sanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy--Creationism
Sanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy-- Evolution
National Academy of Sciences--Science and Creationism
National Center for Science Education
Understanding Evolution
Charles Darwin





Used with permission from Broward Community College


GCCC Library

(850) 872-3893